Tuesday, May 31, 2011


The Kyoto Protocol was agreed upon in 1997 and came into force on 16 Feb. 2005. Originally 36 industrialized countries signed up and established targets to reduce or control emissions. The US and Australia, later dropped out. The basket of greenhouse gases are: Carbon dioxide, Methane, Nitrous oxide, Hydrofluoro carbons, Perfluoro carbons, Sulphur hexa fluorides.

No comments: